Good-by, and Keep Cold

There is a poem I like by Robert Frost in which he addresses an orchard, saying:

“How often already you’ve had to be told,

Keep cold, young orchard. Good-by and keep cold.

Dread  fifty above more than fifty below.”

Well, the same can’t be said for us gardeners! Earlier in the autumn I heard various reports that this is going to be a gelid winter, so I figured I’d better make me a hat for work, as I lost the plastic-fleece one I had before. And having read that plastic-fleece is bad for the environment¹ (even though it’s a creative way of recycling), I decided against getting another one like it.

img_2427

My first attempt was the Twisted Toque designed by Helen Sharp in the book 60 Quick Knits (20 hats, 20 scarves, 20 mittens in Cascade 220) which I didn’t end up liking when I finished it. It made me look like Compo from Last of the Summer Wine! I made a hat for a friend as a Christmas gift which I liked so much I nearly kept it.. but then I decided to make one for myself, in Purpuras rather than Jupiter. I didn’t want to write about it until after Christmas, incase the friend in question saw the post and knew what I was giving her. The pattern is Tanis Gray’s Isla Cloche available free from tanisknits.com. I added a few extra rows to make the hats slouchier. All three hats were made using Malabrigo Rios.

img_2425

Apart from a brief frosty spell in November, it’s been too mild for a woolly hat so far this winter. Needless to say, when Jack Frost was about (and “after our fingers and toes”) I hadn’t finished my hat! Still, there’s a couple of months left before spring, time enough for the snow that fell in the Sahara to migrate to London!

¹  I first read about this in the following post:

woolwinding.wordpress.com/2016/01/26/ouch-ti-pouch-ti/

3 Comments

Filed under Makes

3 responses to “Good-by, and Keep Cold

    • thehookstook

      Thanks! I just popped by your blog and liked the look of the hat you crocheted from the Ruby and Custard Crochet book. Am tempted to make it myself, but will have to find the book first (I am soooo 20th century, and don’t do online purchasing!)

      • Thank you. It is a lovely book if you can get your hands on it. I am most definitely a fan of online shopping though (sometimes to my peril as I can go a bit overboard!). Good luck finding it 🙂

Leave a Reply

