Tin & Hairpin

Now, I know I said I was having a ‘hook hiatus’ but a few things have come up recently to bring my mind back to crochet, if not hands and wool yet. One is an article commission which regrettably hasn’t come together in time due to problems with images, but hopefully will go ahead this time next year when all that is sorted out..

The others were spotted on a trip to the Midlands to visit a friend for an all too brief couple of days. We tootled over to Stratford Upon Avon and couldn’t resist the lure of a secondhand bookshop where I spied a publication that I knew I’d regret not getting. Of course I bought it! Quite a rare find, I think.

img_2392

The other was a piece of filet crochet in the Mission Church (or the ‘Tin Church’ as it was also known) at the Avoncroft Museum of Historic Buildings – where historic buildings retire when in danger of being pulled down! It’s worth a visit if you’re ever in Worcestershire. The tin church originally stood in Bringsty Common, Herefordshire, and was moved to the museum in 1995. I’m not sure if the crochet was also original – the information stated that the church had been maintained well after it had closed: the interior of the church was complete and that the font, lectern, pulpit, pews and vestments were rescued before dismantling, but the organ had to be restored.

It just goes to show…  crochet pops up even when you’re not looking for it (or trying to ignore it!)

6 Comments

Filed under Travel (sling yer hook)

6 responses to “Tin & Hairpin

  1. That’s such an interesting book. Of course you had to rescue it! 😉

    • thehookstook

      I’m not sure if you mean this book looks interesting, or if you have a copy and can recommend that it is indeed interesting! But there aren’t many books on hairpin, so I had to add it to my collection!

  2. I was at a funeral recently of a friend’s mother. There was a giant filet crochet last supper in the ‘coffee room’

  3. thehookstook

    Well. it’s not really appropriate to take photos at funerals, but i wish you had! I’d like to have seen a ‘giant filet crochet last supper’. It sounds intriguing..

Leave a Reply

