Phone Sock

What to do with a forsaken crocheted sock experiment? Turn it into a cover for my new phone, that’s what!

IMG_2141

I decided to get with the times and obtain a smartphone, seeing as the knackered old Nokia that I’d had for yonks had given up the ghost. In an attempt to be socially responsible, I went for the FairPhone 2 developed by the Phone Co-operative. Looking to the future, I thought a smartphone might be good when (if!) I eventually set up shop, and I now have the option of Instagram.

IMG_2139

My new purchase just so happens to fit snuggly into a top-down sock design I was working on a few months ago. I stopped at the heel, and this sock leg conveniently formed a woolly envelope to protect the phone from grime etc – I’m a gardener for a living, and have noticed that bits of nature find their way into the guts of gadgets surprisingly easily!

IMG_2140

It’s pleasing to re-purpose a UFO, utilizing something that has been hanging around for a while. Now to think of some good use for all those swatches I have sitting around being a nuisance…

4 Comments

Filed under Makes

4 responses to “Phone Sock

  1. That’s crocheted? Lovely creative problem solving!

  2. thehookstook

    Oh yes! It certainly is crochet. I like it when crochet looks like knitting – maybe I should just get back to knitting! The phone sock was made using extended double crochet, raised treble and raised double treble crochet stitches (UK terminology). If memory serves correctly, that is…

  3. thehookstook

    Thanks! Luckily, the idea translated well into reality!

Leave a Reply

