Hidden Possibilities

There are hidden possibilities that lurk within limitation, like woodlice under a pot. Consider the humble, nay boring, double crochet stitch. I’m not a fan generally , but one of the compulsory submissions for IDC Part 2 requires that we produce a textured crochet fabric using only dc related stitches. This means no chains other than turning chains, no sneaky double trebles against a background of dc to create bobbles etc. Just dc, extended dc, dc in the back loop only, and such like.

This limitation is interesting because it forces us not to rely on the taller stitches to supply texture, but to explore the boundaries of the dc stitch itself. Here is what I came up with:

IMG_2015

Surprising, isn’t it? In addition to the basic dc, I used exdc, dc front loop only, and dc worked into the back loop of the previous row, as well as a kind of puff (with exdc substituting for the more usual treble).

Now I have to think what use I might put this fabric to…

8 Comments

Filed under International Diploma in Crochet

8 responses to “Hidden Possibilities

  1. thehookstook

    Thanks! Not bad for the lowly dc, eh?

  2. I don’t know what you’re talking about. It’s double Dutch to me but I love that bit of green crochet. :)))

  3. “hidden possibilities that lurk within limitation, like woodlice under a pot” I love it! So true. Nice swatch.

  4. I love it especially the combination of the bobbles and rows. Well done!

Leave a Reply

