Suddenly… Socks!

Okay… not so suddenly! It’s taken me a while to understand the process of socks, so I’m being a bit tongue-in-cheek with my title.

Having had a “sock block” for a while and with my 2014 New Year crochet resolution to make socks unfulfilled, I revisited the sock thing this summer. I thought it would be better to not worry about making a pair of socks until I’d got my head around their anatomy and the process of making them. I dug out all the sock patterns I could find, and turned up eight – four were cuff down and four were toe-up. I decided to try and make one of each of these. I’d failed to understand three patterns… but something clicked on the fourth (Rohn Strong’s Dowding Socks from Inside Crochet  issue 34/October 2012) It’s worth noting that I’d had trouble with a couple of his other patterns – slight alterations in the way patterns are written can make huge differences to the nescient sock-maker!

Here is my first completed sock. It’s a bit misshapen as I started on a 3.5mm hook but this was too large for my tension so switched down to a 3mm halfway through the project..

IMG_1793

I got so excited that I finally understood a sock pattern that I didn’t move on to any of the others – I made a pair of these Dowding socks…

IMG_1781

…and then got carried away dreaming up my own designs (dreaming being the operative word as I have lots of ideas yet to be tested). You see, while I like hand-made socks and the wide range of patterns for knitted socks, I cannot really be bothered with the faff of DPNs! But crocheted socks often aren’t very imaginative and seem quite samey. My favourite pattern on Ravelry is Patsy Harbor’s Honeycomb Sock http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/honeycomb-socks-3 . Inspired by these,  I’m on a mission to design intricate, beautiful, wildly different crocheted socks. Wish me luck!

6 Comments

Filed under Makes

6 responses to “Suddenly… Socks!

  1. I’ve never seen crocheted socks – must check it out.

Leave a Reply

