… with fastenings

At last! I have completed my final practical project for Part 1 of the International Diploma in Crochet.

Having fulfilled all other criteria, I still needed to produce a garment with fastenings. I tried a couple of cardigans for me but got totally stuck: one pattern was badly written, and the other involved veeery tall stitches – I wanted to challenge myself and show off to the teacher that I could do tall stitches but alas, every single one of them turned out saggy, at which point I decided it was more trouble than it was worth. For the sake of speed, I opted for a child’s jacket which would work up quickly. The pattern was  http://www.mooglyblog.com/eloise-baby-sweater/ Hers was multi-coloured, but I decided on just two contrasting colours. When I was halfway through the item, I realised the colours were like my old school uniform! I’m planning to give it to a friend for her bub, so I hope she doesn’t mind that!

IMG_1517

I must say, it feels like a long time getting here – I thought I’d be done with Part 1 in a couple of years absolute maximum, but it’s been three years. It’s a good thing there are no deadlines for the course. I’ve now only got a bit of paperwork to hand in and I’m on to Part 2. Yippee! I can’t wait!

5 Comments

Filed under International Diploma in Crochet, Makes

5 responses to “… with fastenings

  1. Wow, well done! This little jacket looks fabulous. So it’s taken you three years- I was wondering how long it had taken you to get to the end of Part 1 – Must be such a great feeling and it’s exciting that you’ve decided to go on to Part 2. Good Luck!

    • thehookstook

      Thanks… and thanks! I’ve been excited about the prospect of Part 2 for ages! That was possibly one of the problems I had with Part 1 – trying to run before I could walk! Trying to rush things, I ended up blocking myself! Beware!

  2. Tracey Hussey

    At last! Someone who is doing the same diploma as me! And you’ve finished part 1!!!! I’m so jealous. I think I started about 3 years ago and I still haven’t finished all the samples. I’ve just gone brain dead! But you’ve managed it. Well done. I can’t wait to be in your shoes. X

    • thehookstook

      Yes, it’s true – there are a few of us IDC students out there! Are you UK based? If you’re able to get up to Morecambe for one of the workshops, you’d meet more! I think one of my biggest problems in completing was doing the projects – I wanted to show off, and just ended up blocking myself. If you’re anything like me, brain gets in the way sometimes! Best just to get on and DO. And enjoy! Keep in touch…

      • Tracey Hussey

        Yes I’m in the UK but on the very south coast. I work in a achool so am governed by the holidays but perhaps next year(if I haven’t got much further ) I’ll make it up to see you all 😉 x

Leave a Reply

