Sock Block!

A friend recently told me she’d come to a standstill with her knitting as she always seemed make things she either never wore or had no use for. When it came to household items, she’d done enough cushion covers, and one throw was enough. On top of this, she’d made enough for friends and family that they were replete with knitted goods and also needed no more.  She said, and I quote: “I’m reduced to knitting clothes for my niece’s dolls although the doll always seems to be naked whenever I see it!”  I suggested she make socks, as everyone always needs socks!

This reminded me.  I still haven’t addressed my New Year Resolution to make socks. So I turned my attention to that in the past few days..  and got stuck on two different patterns!  Annoying!!

The first was a toe-up design which seemed simple enough – no fancy cables or anything.  But I got to the heel and couldn’t work out how to proceed.  I very nearly unravelled the whole lot in a strop, but stopped myself knowing that I’d regret it. If I could work out how the heel works from other patterns, I thought I might be able to muddle through.

100_6563

 

So..  I turned to another pattern to see if that elucidated things.  As a cuff-down pattern, working the heel would be a different method anyway. But I really liked the look of these socks, and was doing very well – until I got to the heel again!  Perhaps trying another pattern by the same designer wasn’t a good idea as maybe I just don’t click with his pattern-writing style..

100_6559

Meanwhile I’ve had a look at other sock patterns, but don’t really fancy having a go at them as they are lacy, which bring to mind the socks I wore as a schoolgirl! I guess the sock resolution will have to be shelved until I can get past this sock block.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

