I was in one of my favourite shops, Lush, recently and spotted this postcard as I was paying for my soap..

100_6316

 

Wool Against Weapons is part of a peace campaign aimed at banning nuclear weapons.  The request is to contribute a 60cm x 100cm knitted or crocheted piece (peace!) in … PINK!  My least favourite colour. Funnily enough, I was chatting to the cashier about it and she happened to be a knitter.  She said although she loves the colour pink, she doesn’t like knitting with it!  We laughed about how bizarre that is..

The crocheted and knitted rectangles will be stitched together to create a seven mile long peace scarf, to extend between two Atomic Weapons Establishments: Aldermaston and Burghfield in Berkshire, unrolled and twined into place on 9th August 2014 (Nagasaki Day)  For more info about the event and how to get involved, visit: www.woolagainstweapons.co.uk

Here is my rectangle in progress:

100_6283

The suggested number of crochet stitches required to reach the right width is 75, but I found I needed 90!  Something I learned doing the IDC is that the taller stitches spread more than the lowly dc – obvious now I know, but I never observed it before it was pointed out.  So one of the reasons for needing more stitches was the type of stitch I’m using.  I’ve chosen something basic in order to  finish up quickly and without hassle(!) I prefer texture to colour work so I’ve interspersed trebles into rows of dc, creating simple bobbles.

I won’t have enough pink yarn to complete a metre..  No doubt I’ll end up with more left-over pink.. Groan..

1 Comment

June 8, 2014 · 2:53 pm

One response to “Wool Against Weapons

  1. Pingback: Knitting against nuclear weapons | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

